Education Resources Information Center Research Guide
About the Education Resources Information Center
History
The Education Resources Information Center also known as ERIC was founded on May 15, 1964. In the 1950s and 1960s there was a major increase in education research with no way to make the reports accessible to researchers, government officials, and the public. ERIC was founded to disseminate education documents to interested parties.
The California State Library has an expansive collection of ERIC documents on microfiche, with documents from the 1960s onwards. Currently ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information.
Duties
ERIC indexes education research found in journal articles, books, and grey literature.
Finding Education Resources Information Center
Education Resources Information Center publications in our catalog
You can find Education Resources Information Center publications in the California State Library’s online catalog. In the advanced search, select “Author/Creator” and type in Education Resources Information Center.
If you are searching for a particular document, you can select “Title” and “contains” from the drop-down menus for the next search box and enter important words from the title.
You can also add keywords or controlled subject terms to find Education Resources Information Center documents on specific topics or narrow by date or material type.
The California State Library has an expansive collection of ERIC microfiche. Not all of these documents may be included in the California State Library’s online catalog. If a document is not available in full text on ERIC there is a high degree of likelihood that the California State Library has a copy in microfiche.
ERIC maintains a list of documents that are currently available on microfiche, but not online.
Education Resources Information Center publications online
The ERIC website is offered free for public use by the Institute of Education Sciences at the U.S. Department of Education. The best way to find ERIC documents is through the ERIC database.
If an ERIC document is not available in full text online, then there is a high degree of possibility that the California State Library has this document in microfiche format.
